Sprung zur Navigation. Sprung zum Inhalt.


Karlsruhe: Welcome

City administration

 Mayor Dr. Frank Mentrup

Mayor Dr. Frank Mentrup

In Germany, the city adminis­tra­tion is the first point of contact for citizens in all matters pertaining to the autho­ri­ties. The Mayor is the head of the city adminis­tra­tion. He is elected directly by the citizens and represents the community externally. He is the voting chairman of the City Council and of its decision-making bodies. The term of office for a Mayor in Baden-Württem­berg is generally eight years.

Read more zur Seite Mayor Dr. Frank Mentrup

Deputy Mayors and their areas of responsibility

The city of Karlsruhe has five male deputy mayors and one female deputy mayor. Their areas of respon­si­bi­lity are referred to as Dezernate (depart­ments).

Read more zur Seite Deputy Mayors and their areas of responsibility

City Council

The City Council represents the citizens and is the city's main body. It determines the basic principles of the adminis­tra­tion of the city and decides on matters pertaining to the city.

Read more zur Seite City Council